Piece by Piece

 

Ever since I first heard Kelly Clarkson’s song, “Piece by Piece”, I can’t get the lyrics out of

my mind. Kelly wrote the song about her absentee father, and I suppose the reason why

the words have stayed with me, is because, I too, grew up without my father being around.

 

I was six months old when my parents got divorced. I don’t have any memory of my

parents fighting or my father leaving.

 

I just remember him not being there. He wasn’t there to hold my hand when sharp needles

pierced my tender skin or countless doctors endlessly poked and prodded me, throughout

my multiple hospital stays.

 

He was not there to read me bedtime stories, tuck me into bed, or sing me a lullaby.

 

Nor was he there to quiet my fears or chase away my tears.

 

Countless other special father/daughter occasions came and went, and he wasn’t there.

 

Childhood is hard enough, but when you grow up without a father, it is even harder.

 

So many questions went through my mind as I got older. Why did he leave? Did he love me?

 

Along with the many questions, there were so many emotions as well.: Anger, pain, fear, etc.

 

As an adult, I’ve come to understand that I will never have all the answers to my questions.

There are just some things that are best left unasked, and others unsaid.

 

I have traded the anger, pain, and fear for peace, forgiveness, and love.

 

I love my Dad. I am grateful that he is in my life. We can’t ever undo the past, but we can

definitely shape our relationship for the future.

